Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
4,829 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys!

Here's an interesting question I have been thinking about. How hard would it be to spin the tires on a smart if you either pull fuse 11 or do the two button push mod?

It seems like it would be easier because it's a rear wheel drive car and that's where the minority of the braking occurs so it would be easier to break the rear drums loose than the front rotors but all of the weight is on the back tires so it would be harder. Also, would the drivetrain be able to handle spinning the tires? I've wanted to try this, but I've never done it on my smart before and I'd be afraid that I would hurt something.

Thank you for your input in advanced!

·
Premium Member
11,309 Posts
The traction control will activate before the tires will spin, pulling fuse 11 will disable TCS and the ABS.

·
Registered
9,074 Posts
...do the two buttons and go try it..
..,in wet grass I lost a race...in the snow my heart got a new beat...

Jetfuel...way down south....still

·
Registered
4,333 Posts
I agree with what's been posted above. On dry pavement it will never happen. Just like my first car, a 1978 Plymouth Volare' Coupe. Had a slant 6 in it. I did the traditional wide tires mod, and that car wouldn't chirp a tire no matter how hard I tried. If I did a sharp right turn, I could get the inside to chirp once, but that was it.

Besides, it's a smart, what's the point????:)

·
Super Moderator
MY08 cabrio MY09 cabrio Brabus MY15 ED
7,862 Posts
Spin the tires?

Hey guys!

Here's an interesting question I have been thinking about. How hard would it be to spin the tires on a smart if you either pull fuse 11 or do the two button push mod?

Thank you for your input in advanced!
See Frankensmart thread,
or the only likely way to get tire spin from a smart . . .

·
Registered
2,550 Posts