Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Thinking of buying a used 2013 smartfortwo- Any advice?

Hello. I am new to the fourm and thought, why not come to the people that know these cars best. I am in the los angeles area and have already found a mechanic in the west la area that someone recommended. I will be asking them to give the car a once over before making the final purchase. It is also nice to know that a local mechanic will be able to work on maintenance( oil changes etc)

Here is a little info on the car i am looking into--

2013 Smart Passion in Silver and Black with Black Leather seats.
37,000 miles with one local Carfax Certified owner.
Balance of factory warranty till 10/2017 - 50k.
Passion Package (Alloys, A/C, Smart Radio, Rain and Light Sensor, Power Windows, Heated Door Mirrors). Appearance Package. Cruise Control. Comfort Package (Power Steering, Heated Leather Seats) Plus BRABUS 6-Twin Spoke Wheels.

They are asking 7k for this car, is this a fair price, and what do you think i can talk them down to? I currently drive an acura tsx and was looking for a smaller car to drive around locally( store, gym, movie outings) I dont think I will drive it much on freeway so it will be used for local street driving only.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Sounds like a good deal. You might get the price down some. See if you can take it out for an extended drive. Maybe an hour. The car is a little quirkier than your Acura. Takes a little time to get used to the transmission. It's the perfect city car. However I've driven mine from Flagstaff to Yuma on 7 gallons of gas. So it's good on the highway too. My friend has borrowed it to go from Yuma to LA on numerous occasions. He's made a few trips to Colorado to see his daughter. First trip he claimed it only cost him $33 to get to Colorado. On his LA trip one time he said it got 54 miles to the gallon.