Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 20 of 92 Posts

·
Registered
1,872 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody hear of a trailer hitch manufacturer for the 453's yet? Have trailer, won't travel. I had a Curt hitch on my 2008 which worked great but I'm trying Curt to find out if they will design one for the 453's

·
Registered
92 Posts
You can't haul a trailer with a 453.

It can handle a total of two adult passengers and a bag before you start to strain the drivetrain.

That's a total of about 450 lbs.

If you need to pull a trailer you bought the wrong car.

·
Registered
29 Posts
I'm waiting on the 453 hitch information too!

I do understand that I can't expect to pull much weight behind my Smart 453 Passion. I have pulled with success a utility trailer with about 600 lbs of weight with my 451. I'm no expert but I would have thought that with the newer more powerful turbo engine and horsepower upgrade that the same or even more weight would be pulled with ease. My current plan is to build a mini-teardrop trailer and travel the country once an affordable hitch can be made and put on the 453. I've got my fingers crossed that Curt or one of the other hitch makers can make this happen in the near future.

-smarTony

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
It's in the user manual and printed on the vehicle identification plate on the B-pillar.
That does not mean the 453 can't tow a small trailer with low tongue and load weight. Plenty of folks have done the same with their 451s. I towed a trailer with my '62 VW Beetle and its 40hp engine without any problems as long as the trailer weight, tongue weight and load weight are reasonable for the car. Been doing the same with other small cars for years.

·
Registered
1,872 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
There are plenty of 451's towing trailers without any problem, I had one myself. I know Daimler doesn't recommend towing but many people do it and I've never had a smart tech say a thing about it and it never voided my warranty either.

·