Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all-

I'm not a mechanic so I seek some help from you guys.

My 2013 Smart has already crapped out and died at 9600 miles on the odo. Here's my sad story:

The car has been working flawlessly since I bought it. Couldn't ask for more. I drove it out to supper this evening and all was fine. When I pulled out of the restaurant parking lot onto the main road, I was in automatic. The car started jerking rather violently as if it was struggling with either changing gears or as if something was slipping. After it got over its spasms, I was able to drive home without incident although I could feel it randomly jerking a little while driving on the interstate. Not much but just every now and then. I made it to around a mile from my house. I made a right turn at a light and that's when the car basically gave up any sort of useful movement with any gear 3rd or above. The engine light finally popped on at that point. I drove the car home in 2nd gear at around 15mph with a high tachometer reading. The engine did not sound revved up and it certainly didn't sound right either. I creeped my way to the house, got to my driveway. It is an incline. The car would not make it up the driveway. There simply wasn't enough strength left to get me up top so I had to park it in front of the house.

Bottom line is that I can change gears but the pull is pretty much gone. No smell, and the engine appears to idle fine. It's just no pull and things sound strange if I try to go forward or reverse.

I know this is not a very scientific explanation but it's the only way I know how to explain it and it is what transpired this evening! I'm off to Mercedes Charlotte on Monday to find out if they will tow the car since it should be under warranty.

Does this sound like a transmission problem to you?

Thanks-
Steve

·
Registered
11,472 Posts