Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!
My battery officially died for good, and I need to get a new one.
I have two options.
Either use my AAA card and pay $160 for a battery (w/ 2 year warranty) and AAA brings and installs it for me.
OR
I can buy the battery myself and install it, even though I'd have to depend on YouTube tutorials, cause I have zero car knowledge on how to do this.
My question is basically if it would be worth it for AAA to do it? Or would it be much cheaper if I bought it and installed it myself? All the Smart Car batteries I see for sale online, are like $250 and that doesn't seem right? What brand do you use?

INFO: My Smart is a 2013. Non Electric.

·
Super Moderator
MY08 cabrio MY09 cabrio Brabus MY15 ED
7,911 Posts
What about the Everstart MAXX-H5 from Walmart?

That would fit, correct?
smart 451?

Is it a Group Size 47 (Description says "Group size H5") VENTED battery?

Don't think I'd go there???

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #5

·
Super Moderator
7,911 Posts
H5 Length 9.50 Width 6.90 x Height 7.50

OEM H47 Length 9.6875 Width 6.875 Height 7.50

You would likely be fine, the dimensions are not exactly the same and the battery well is a snug fit and may prove challenging?

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
H5 Length 9.50 Width 6.90 x Height 7.50

OEM H47 Length 9.6875 Width 6.875 Height 7.50

You would likely be fine, the dimensions are not exactly the same and the battery well is a snug fit and may prove challenging?
Gotcha! Someone on this forum recommended using a ACDelco Professional LN1PS battery before, but I could not find that battery anywhere online or in store.

Its crazy how hard it is to find damn batteries for this car. I just looked at the AAA battery service again, and they don't even offer them anymore, when I could have sworn they did, hence by the text of my original post, using that as an option.