Smart Car of America Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,160 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I spoke with the mechanic at my NYC dealership. He said that he'd heard that the diesel smarts don't have enough oomph to safely enter some highway entrance ramps. He guessed that a turbo version could get around that problem but might sacrifice too much mileage to be worthwhile.

Can anyone corroborate this info? I'm no expert on car engines.

·
Banned
3,834 Posts
All of the diesels are turbos. The reason in one short word is "EPA." And, the decision by M-B to pursue other evolving options.

·
Registered
43 Posts
70ish mpg though wasn't it? For city tootling about, that'd be acceptable, (that Micro Hybrid thingy to turn the engine off at stop lights too?). Real shame can't get Diesel's over here that common it appears. Trucks chuck out fumes and get naff all mileage, but a decent car that gets tons of miles isn't allowed? Stuff drilling off the Florida coast, get 'em to get efficient cars sorted.

·
Registered
2,242 Posts
Meh, 2 weeks ago a friend from another smart forum came down from Canada and we hung out. He's got a 2006 pulse cdi with the equivelant of like 115K miles on it (already!). We shot onto the beltway and got stuck behind some fool who was going like 35 at the end of the ramp, and it still got up and went well enough to merge into 70 MPH traffic.

Seat of your pants means a lot more in these cases than just the numbers. His car does have a lag from a standing stop, enough that you have to compensate when making left hand turns so as to not turn in front of someone, but once it is rolling it moves just fine.

There are plenty of buses, trucks, older non-turbo Mercedes diesels, etc on the roads that are slower.

·
Registered
97 Posts